Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
1600 km solo kayak expedition from Durban to Cape Town
30 décembre 2012

Pinnacle Bay - End of the trip

End of the trip...

 

Rob-Brenton-on-sea beach 008-1

As dreaded, this morning as he was trying to get out of the surf, the kayak got it once again and for the last time on the rocks and it got broken into several pieces...

Pinnacle bay will have been the last stop... As I asked Robert if he was injured, he said he got only a few sores...

I am very disappointed for him as I know he is very disappointed and upset but it certainly has been a marvellous adventure, with great people met along the way, great support on the blog: I checked today 1090 people have visited the blog!!! And a fabulous wildlife adventure, countless species seen in the ocean and fabulous, fabulous sceneries...

The kids and I are flying back to SA tomorrow night. I will post lots of photos when we are back home...

 

In the meantime, we wish you all a very happy 2013!

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
M
Great effort Rob. I know you well enough to know that you would only give up once you no longer had a kayak to kayak in, and in the end that was the case. You can pat yourself on the back and open a can (or two...)of lager. Next trip Windhoek to Cape Town via the skeleton coast, and this time you will be joined by your brother for sure.... I would recommend we use plastic kayaks though.....<br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> p.s. we request a full equipment inventory on the blog please! I know there are many kayakers who have followed your adventures and they would be very interested in what gear you used (and also what worked and what did not...)
1600 km solo kayak expedition from Durban to Cape Town
  • My name is Robert Hewetson. I will attempt to travel by sea kayak from Durban to Cape Town in South Africa. The only purpose of this trip is to have a good adventure. I will make a few posts regarding preparations and equipment prior to departure...
  • Accueil du blog
  • Créer un blog avec CanalBlog
Publicité
Archives
Derniers commentaires
Publicité